

COMMENCEMENT SPEAKERS

(Spring 1961 – Spring 2024)

2024 Spring	Dr. David W. C. MacMillan	Nobel Prize-winning Chemist
2023 Fall	Debbie Antonelli	ESPN and CBS College Basketball Analyst
2023 Spring	General Anthony J. Cotton	Commander, United States Strategic Command
2022 Fall	Dr. Chavonda Jacobs-Young	USDA Chief Scientist and Under Secretary for Research, Education and Economics
2022 Spring	Mohamed L. Mansour	Chairman, Mansour Group & ManCapital
2021 Fall	Mark Templeton	President and CEO, Citrix Systems [retired]
2021 August (Commencement for the Class of 2020)	Cindy Eckert	Founder and CEO, The Pink Ceiling
2021 Spring	Russell Wilson	Super Bowl Champion and Quarterback for the Seattle Seahawks
2020 Fall (Virtual Commencement for the Class of 2020)	Christina Hammock Koch	NASA Astronaut and NC State Alumna
2020 Spring	No ceremony due to COVID-19 pandemic	
2019 Fall	Dr. William L. Roper	Interim President, University of North Carolina
2019 Spring	Virginia M. (Ginni) Rometty	Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, IBM
2018 Fall	Christine Mann Darden	NASA Executive and Engineer
2018 Spring	Marian Wright Edelman	Founder and President, Children's Defense Fund
2017 Fall	Chancellor W. Randolph Woodson	Chancellor, NC State University
2017 Spring	Nancy McFarlane	Mayor of the City of Raleigh
2016 Fall	Margaret Spellings	President, the University of North Carolina
2016 Spring	Admiral Michelle Howard	Vice Chief of Naval Operations



2015 Fall	Ambassador Karl Eikenberry	United States Army, Retired, and former U.S. Ambassador
2015 Spring	France A. Córdova	to Afghanistan Director of the National Science Foundation
2014 Fall	Vivian Howard	Chef and Owner of the Chef & The Farmer and the Boiler Room Oyster Bar in Kinston, NC
2014 Spring	David Ferriero	Archivist of the United States and Head of the National Archives and Records Administration
2013 Fall	Chancellor W. Randolph Woodson	Chancellor, NC State University
2013 Spring	Philip Freelon	Founder and President of the Freelon Group and NC State alumnus
2012 Fall	Dickson B. (Doc) Hendley	Founder and President of Wine to Water
2012 Spring	Philip Rivers	Record-setting passer for NC State and currently starting quarterback for the San Diego Chargers
2011 Fall	Dr. Rajendra Pachauri	Nobel-Prize winner and NC State alumnus. World leader in the study of climate change.
2011 Spring	James E. Rogers	President and CEO of Duke Energy
2010 Fall	General Raymond T. Odierno	Commander of United States Joint Forces Command
2010 Spring	Charles Rose	Executive Editor and Anchor of the "Charlie Rose" Show
2009 Fall	No speaker due to Dr. Rajendra Pachauri being sick	Nobel-Prize winner and NC State alumnus. World leader in the study of climate change.
2009 Spring	John Seely Brown	Independent Co-Chairman of the Deloitte Center for Edge Innovation
2008 Fall	William (Bill) Cowher	Super Bowl-winning coach and NC State alumnus. Analyst with CBS Sports for "The NFL Today" show.
2008 Spring	Erskine Bowles	President of UNC System



2007 Fall	Mr. Billy Ray Hall	Founding president of the
		North Carolina Economic
2007 Caratina	Dr. Kenneth Olden	Development Center
2007 Spring	Dr. Kenneth Olden	Chief of the Metastasis
		Section in the Laboratory of
		Molecular Carcinogenesis at
		the National Institute of
		Environmental Health
0000 5 11		Sciences
2006 Fall	The Honorable Bonnie McElveen-	CEO and owner of Pace
	Hunter	Communications and current
		chairman of the American
		Red Cross
2006 Spring	Dr. Ralph Cicerone	President, National Academy
		of Sciences
2005 Fall	Mr. William R. McNeill	Superintendent of Wake
		County Public Schools
2005 Spring	Dr. Johnnetta Cole	President, Bennett College
2004 Fall	R. Scott Wallinger	Senior Vice President
		MeadWestvaco Corporation,
		Retired
2004 Spring	Lieutenant General Dan K.	Commanding Officer of U.S.
	McNeill	Military Forces in Afghanistan
2003 Fall	Shirley Ann Jackson	President, Rensselaer
		Polytechnic Institute
2003 Spring	Phil Donahue	Emmy and Peabody Award
		Winning Television Host
2002 Fall	James H. Goodnight	CEO, Chairman, Co-Founder,
		and President of SAS Institute
2002 Spring	William James Raspberry	Washington Post Columnist
2001 Fall	The Honorable James B. Hunt,	Former Governor of NC
	Jr.	
2001 Spring	Dr. Harm de Blij	Author, professor, and
		television personality
2000 Fall	Father Theodore Hesburgh	President Emeritus of the
		University of Notre Dame
2000 Spring	Senator John Edwards	NC Senator
1999 Fall	Gerald J. Butters	President, Lucent
		Technologies' Optical
		Networking Group
1999 Spring	Senator John Edwards	NC Senator
1998 Fall	Benjamin S. Ruffin	Chairman, Board of
		Governors
1998 Spring	General Henry Hugh Shelton	Chairman of the Joint Chiefs
		of Staff



1997 Fall	Dr. Marcus L. Martin	Professor and Chairman of Emergency Medicine at the
		University of Virginia
1997 Spring	The Honorable J. D. Hayworth	United States Congressman
		from Arizona
1996 Fall	Dr. Jerry Punch	ESPN Sports Reporter
1996 Spring	Fred McFeely Rogers	Host, <i>Mister Rogers'</i>
		<i>Neighborhood</i> on PBS
1995 Fall	The Honorable Burley B. Mitchell,	Chief Justice, The Supreme
	Jr.	Court of NC
1995 Spring	Dr. E. Gordon Gee	President, The Ohio State
		University
1994 Fall	Dr. Albert Carnesale	Acting President and Provost
		Harvard University
1994 Spring	Elizabeth Dole	President, American Red
		Cross
1993 Fall	Dr. Ernest L. Boyer	President of the Carnegie
		Foundation for the
		Advancement of Learning
1993 Spring	Governor James B. Hunt	Governor of NC
1992 Fall	Dr. John Hope Franklin	James B. Duke
		Professor of History Emeritus
		Duke University
1992 Spring	John T. Caldwell	Chancellor Emeritus, NCSU
1991 Fall	General Maxwell R. Thurman	U. S. Army, Retired
1991 Spring	Dr. William Friday	President Emeritus
		The University of NC
1990 Fall	Dr. Larry K. Monteith	Chancellor, NCSU
1990 Spring	Ms. Maya Angelou	Reynolds Professor of
		American Studies
1989 Spring	The Honorable James G. Martin	Governor of NC
1988 Spring	Mr. Edwin Newman	Broadcast Journalist
1987 Spring	Chancellor Bruce R. Poulton	Chancellor, NCSU
1986 Spring	Dr. William Friday	President Emeritus
		The University of NC
1985 Spring	Dr. Leo Kenneth Bustad	Professor and Dean Emeritus
		College of Vet Medicine
		Washington State University
1984 Spring	Dr. Abraham Holtzman	Professor of Political Science
		and Public Administration,
		NCSU
1983 Spring	Bill Monroe	Moderator and Producer of
		Meet the Press
1982 Spring	Claude Ramsey	Chairman and President
		Akzona Incorporated
1981 Spring	Dr. Frank Rhodes	President, Cornell University



1980 Spring	Dr. William E. Davis	President, University of New Mexico
1979 Spring	Dr. E. T. York, Jr.	Chancellor, State University System of Florida
1978 Spring	Roy H Park	President, Park Broadcasting Inc. and Park Newspapers, Inc.
1977 Spring	The Honorable James B. Hunt, Jr.	Governor of North Carolina
1976 Spring	The Honorable Sam J. Ervin, Jr.	
1975 Spring	Chancellor John Tyler Caldwell	
1974 Spring	Chancellor John Tyler Caldwell	
1973 Spring	<u> </u>	
1972 Spring	William D. Ruckelshaus	Administrator, United States Environmental Protection Agency
1971 Spring	Chancellor John Tyler Caldwell	-
1970 Spring	Dr. John A. Hannah	Administrator of the United States Agency for International Development
1969 Spring	Mark O. Hatfield	United States Senator, Oregon
1968 Spring	Chancellor John Tyler Caldwell	
1967 Spring	Chancellor John Tyler Caldwell	
1966 Spring	Chancellor John Tyler Caldwell	
1965 Spring	Chancellor John Tyler Caldwell	
1964 Spring	Clifford M. Hardin	Chancellor, University of Nebraska
1963 Spring	David E. Bell	Director, Agency for International Development United States Department of State
1962 Spring	Julius A. Stratton	President Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1961 Spring	George Wells Beadle	Chancellor, University of Chicago